Allowances (Or Rather, A Sewing Trick I Learned While Making Drawers)

Published 12/5/2022

Notes about this article: First off, first article! Hooray! Second thing: I'm afraid my article and video on my 1909 split-crotch drawers construction is not done, and will not be done for a little bit. Apologies for the lack of context, but hopefully this trick is useful nonetheless despite how short this turned out to be.

~~~~~~~~~

When working on my drawers, I ran into a couple of problems mainly having to do with my chronic illness. With my fibromyalgia, the amount I can rely on my brain to keep track of and remember things is inconsistent; it's known as 'fibro fog,' and can be quite dehibilitating in day-to-day life. Alas, hobbies are no different when your brain has decided to turn to mush and only preform mindless activities.

Alongside writing out a detailed construction step-by-step list of a project, normally I just blunder through and accept that I can always rip out a seam, get more fabric, or work on a different project when something seems too challenging. With these drawers, most of the sewing was quite mindless, so the trickiness of geometry or complicated construction was less of an issue. The main problems were physical discomforts (easily bearable with a heating pack and a comfy quilt,) and sewing the wrong things together.

After sewing two backstitched seams and one fell where they were not supposed to be, I had an idea while getting ready for bed.

I promptly labelled my remaining seam allowances.

Pencil showed up very well on the white linen (I traced my patterns with it after all), and it wouldn't be seen when folded under and hemmed. While I will definitely be picking up one or two of those fancy disappearing pens for other fabrics, overall I think I will impliment this into my pattern tracing and cutting process in the faint hopes of avoiding more seam ripping and half a day of work.

~~~~~~~~~

(Fun fact: I forgot the word for seam allowance for an annoyingly long moment while writing this.)
Return to Home